Publication: Monitor Volume: 3 Issue: 169

Eduard Yeghorian and nine other parliamentary deputies have created a new parliamentary group, Homeland, splitting off from the Republic bloc which forms the majority in Armenia’s parliament. The majority promptly retaliated by replacing Yeghorian from his post of chairman of the parliament’s Legal Affairs Committee. The ten deputies, all described as founding members of the ruling Armenian Pan-National Movement, have not yet resigned from the APNM, hoping to gather more adherents within the party. However, Republic bloc leader Ter-Husik Lazarian said the ten deputies had "burned all bridges" and predicted that Homeland will shortly become a full-fledged opposition party. The APNM for its part expelled from its ranks the prominent parliamentary and former government official David Shahnazarian, a critic of President Levon Ter-Petrosian’s authoritarian rule. (Noyan-Tapan, September 10-11)

The Monitor is a publication of the Jamestown Foundation. It is researched and written under the direction of senior analysts Jonas Bernstein, Vladimir Socor, Stephen Foye, and analysts Ilya Malyakin, Oleg Varfolomeyev and Ilias Bogatyrev. If you have any questions regarding the content of the Monitor, please contact the foundation. If you would like information on subscribing to the Monitor, or have any comments, suggestions or questions, please contact us by e-mail at, by fax at 301-562-8021, or by postal mail at The Jamestown Foundation, 4516 43rd Street NW, Washington DC 20016. Unauthorized reproduction or redistribution of the Monitor is strictly prohibited by law. Copyright (c) 1983-2002 The Jamestown Foundation Site Maintenance by Johnny Flash Productions