The Armenian Pan-National Movement (APNM), in power from 1990-1998, won just one of 131 seats in the May 30 parliamentary elections. The one APNM seat went to Vano Siradeghian, widely considered one of the country’s most corrupt politicians. His victory preserves his immunity from arrest. The new party of power is the Unity Bloc (Miasnutiun), launched earlier this year by the former chief of Soviet Armenia, Karen Demirchian. Widespread irregularities and disorganization tainted the election results.